Nominations Open for 2018 Provost Awards

Nominations are now being sought for the 2018 Stirling Provost Awards.

The awards are presented to individuals, groups or organisations who have made significant contributions to local communities, or who have achieved national recognition in their field.

The Stirling Provost Awards will be hosted by Provost Christine Simpson at Stirling Castle on Friday 26th October. The deadline for nominations is Monday 30th April.

Provost Simpson said, “There are so many talented individuals living and working in the Stirling area, and often their hard work goes unnoticed or unrewarded. It's so important to recognise these people and to encourage others to replicate their efforts.

“This is a great opportunity and I'd like to encourage people to come forward now and nominate worthy individuals, community groups and organisations so that we can formally recognise their success.”

The award categories are:

  • Academic – open to members of the Higher or Further Educational establishments within the Stirling Council area who have achieved success or made a substantial contribution to research in their chosen field.
  • Arts and Culture – open to residents of the Stirling Council area who work in the arts (voluntarily or professionally) undertaking imaginative work or demonstrating good practice and innovation.
  • Business – open to individuals in both large and small businesses who have made a substantial contribution to the Stirling Council area.
  • Community – open to residents of the Stirling Council area who have made a significant contribution to the community which they serve.
  • Sport – open to residents of the Stirling Council area (including those based in Stirling) who have achieved recognition in sport.
  • Volunteer Sector – open to voluntary sector workers or volunteer groups in the Stirling Council area who have made a substantial contribution in their field.
  • Youth – open to individuals aged 11-18 who have made a notable or substantial contribution to their community.
  • Special Achievement – nominations are sought on behalf of those individuals who may not fall into any of the above categories. These nominations will be considered on their merits.

In addition, all nominations will be considered for the William “Citizen” Jaffray Award that recognises outstanding citizenship.

>Nomination Form

> Back

Keep up to date with all the latest news and developments from SVE by signing up to receive regular SVE e-Bulletins, delivered direct to your inbox:

 I agree to receive further communications from SVE